Kayaking Through The Storm

Yesterday Afternoon my son was bored so I asked him if there was anything he would like to do. He decided it would be a good idea to load up his kayak and his friends canoe and take off to the creak. It has stormed a lot here for the past couple weeks so the creek was a little swift when we got there. So we got everything unloaded and they where off.

W image image image image image image image

I told them I would pick them up a mile back down the creek and we could go swimming and hang out a while. That plan didn’t work out. I went back to the swimming hole and the boys where there in just a few minutes but the creak was so swift they couldn’t find a good place to stop and where not really able too. So they decided I could pick them up down the road at a bridge we saw along the way. Which was about 10 miles away. I was a little weary of the idea but really didn’t have much choice as they went on by. 

I went on down to the bridge and waited, and waited, and an hour passed. Then another hour. No boys! I’m worried for sure. I was afraid to go back because I didn’t want to miss them coming through the bridge. I was truely afraid if I was there they would think I was on down the creak at another bridge and the creak just got rougher and rougher in down. Two and a half hours had passed by and the sky turns black and it starts to storm. I am Freaking out now!  Up on the mountain side I saw a tree fall from a lightning strike. So many thoughts going through my head. A few miles back up the road a friend of mine owns a tack shop so I went to her. She calmed me a little when she told me the trip usually takes at least 2 hours. I went back. I prayed. I cried, and prayed some more. Then I hear in the silence, “oh no it’s a beaver dam!” I was never so glad to hear this in all my life.  God is good and watched over them. They couldnt get through the dam so I was definitely not gonna miss them. I am grateful he had my back. Needless to say I will be going on the next trip not sitting and worrying for sure. The boys had an awesome adventure they will never forget and they made it through the rough waters and the storm. 

Leave a Reply

